Introduction to The Seven Chakras Part 2


Welcome to our second post in our intro to Chakra Series. If you haven’t read the first post, I encourage you to check out the post here to get some important context on the relevance of chakras to Reiki healing and the firs two Chakras.

As a quick review on chakras and their importance, chakras are a tool by which we can understand the ailments and balance of our physical bodies. Understanding chakras can be helpful in making your Reiki practice more effective. With that said, on to our next two chakras!


Manipura the Solar Plexus Chakra

Color: Yellow
Location: Stomach and Digestive Tract

Solar plexus chakra, credit Resonance Meditation

Have you felt butterflies in your stomach before a big event? Then you’ve experienced the connection between the solar plexus chakra and self-confidence. This chakra is most commonly associated with self-esteem and anxiety. Physical manifestations of these issues can arise in the digestive tract, where this chakra is centered. Utilize the power of the solar plexus chakra to gain confidence and personal power. Balance will give you spiritual growth, and can help to ease physical issues within the digestive tract.

Yellow foods are commonly associated with this chakra, including grains and corn. Not surprisingly tea is also helpful to maintain a balanced solar plexus. Chamomile tea comes highly recommended to reduce anxiety and ease the stomach. Boat pose in yoga will help with this chakra, but the best way to activate your manipura is to get up and dance! This is hard for someone like who is a terrible dancer but not only will it relieve stress, but it will make you feel more connected to the body and give you a midday burst of confidence.

Still Skeptical? The nerve endings associated with the solar plexus directly connect to the kidneys and pancreas, aiding in digestion. Food is the energy source of the body, and slow metabolizing carbs such as corn and grains will give long lasting energy to the body and the mind. Fun fact: studies show that high concentrations of chamomile tea can have the same effects on the body as several prescription anti-anxiety drugs.


Anahata the Heart Chakra

Color: Green
Location: Chest

Heart chakra, credit Resonance Meditation

This one is all about love!

We’ve all heard of the connection between the circulatory system and love, which likely roots in the fourth chakra, Anahata. Balancing this chakra will improve the quality of our love, our likelihood of love, and our chances of falling in love. This chakra is also associated with deep feelings of compassion and tenderness, and when out of balance can lead to feelings of rejection and a sudden lack of devotion. One of the most famous chakras, the heart chakra is one of the more popular methods of opening us up spiritually and emotionally. If you need more love in your life (and who doesn’t), there are a few ways of opening up this chakra.

Start by eating green, leafy vegetables. Clearly the trend towards juicing and juice bars in recent years is onto something. Green tea is also thought to balance the circulatory system and in return align this chakra. Getting out and exercising will give you the boost to activate anahata as well. One of our favorites is practicing Bikram Yoga. For those who aren’t familiar, this is often referred to as “hot” yoga, and is a fast paced workout in a room that is usually set to about 90 degrees. Sweating helps release the tension in your body and can help you reconnect with the primal nature of your body.

Skeptical? Ever wondered why the heart is correlated with love? For thousands of years humans have noted the connection through full hearts and broken hearts. The nerve grouping in the chest and around the heart is also the center of the immune system and endocrine system. This is where our body creates T cells that ward off disease. When we are stressed out, our immune systems don’t work as well, and we have an easier chance of getting sick.

If nothing else, leafy greens have massive heart healthy benefits to improve your circulatory system!


That concludes our second post in our Introduction to Chakras Series. If you haven’t had the chance, check out our first post here, and continue to the third part of this series here.

2 thoughts on “Introduction to The Seven Chakras Part 2

  1. James Saison

    Thank you for posting this. This has helped my partner and I develop and reconnect on a deeper level. We both now have healthy hearts (emotionally and physically) after reading and applying these pointers. Great addition to our normal yoga routine.

    1. Erica Sands

      Hi James,

      I’m glad this was useful to you and your partner 🙂

      Kudos to having a yoga routine with your partner!

      Much love,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *